

2008 Recipients of Amgen Award for Science Teaching Excellence Announced

June 5, 2008

32 Outstanding Science Teachers and Schools Recognized in Amgen Communities Across the United States, Canada and Puerto Rico

THOUSAND OAKS, Calif.--(BUSINESS WIRE)--June 5, 2008--Amgen (NASDAQ:AMGN) today announced the 32 science teachers across the United States (U.S.), Canada and Puerto Rico who are this year's recipients of the Amgen Award for Science Teaching Excellence, a program designed to recognize teachers in the K-12 grade levels in public and private schools whose dedication to their students' education has had a significant impact on the learning and interest of the future generation of scientists.

All of the individuals honored have demonstrated an outstanding ability to inspire their students and produce results in science education. In 2008, Amgen expanded the Amgen Award for Science Teaching Excellence to teachers in Canada. The winners of the 17th annual Amgen Science Teaching Awards program were honored at special ceremonies in their respective Amgen communities or during surprise presentations at their schools. The 2008 award recipients are:

California

Victoria Acquistapace, DeLa Salle High School in Concord Sergio de Alba, R.M. Miano Elementary in Los Banos Suzanna Gough Johnson, Colfax High School in Colfax James T. Ikeda, San Mateo High School in San Mateo Steve Sogo, Laguna Beach High School in Laguna Beach Elisa M. Stone, Berkeley High School in Berkeley

Colorado

Haydee Phelps, Summit Middle Charter School in Boulder Bradley Loucks, Redlands Middle School in Grand Junction Grace DeBacker, Nevin Platt Middle School in Boulder Sandra Smith, William J. Palmer High School in Colorado Springs

Kentucky

Ellie Vandivier, Mercer County Elementary School in Harrodsburg Catherina Wiley, Barren County High School in Glasgow Melissa Evans, Corbin Middle School in Corbin Troy Schuknecht, Shawnee High School in Louisville

Massachusetts

Charles Duggan, Watertown High School in Watertown Erin L. Flynn, John D. Philbrick Elementary in Roslindale Kristen Cacciatore, East Boston High School in Boston Christine Brothers, Falmouth High School in Falmouth

Rhode Island

Mathew Bottone, The Pennfield School in Portsmouth Joyce Martinelli, Western Coventry Elementary School in Coventry Ann Walkup, Cranston High School East in Cranston William Brew III, Coventry High School in Coventry

Washington

Deborah Rumbaugh, Auburn Mountainview High School in Auburn Laura Baumgartner, Robinswood High School in Bellevue Dana Stairs, Fall City Elementary School in Fall City Jessica Levine, Eckstein Middle School in Seattle

Puerto Rico

Alexandra Rodriguez Negron, Commonwealth - Parkville School in San Juan Javier Gonzalez Delgado, Intermedia Rafael Irizarry Rivera in Penuelas Marialuisa Colon Santiago, Esc. de la Comunidad Silvia Torres Torres in Villalba Mirma J. Berrios Figueroa, Leoncio Melendez in Las Piedras

Canada

Gregg Mitchell, Timberline Secondary School in Campbell River, British Columbia Casey Wilson, William Grenville Davis in Brampton, Ontario

Amgen established the Amgen Award for Science Teaching Excellence to demonstrate the company's commitment to advancing science education. Since the program's inception in 1992, Amgen has awarded more than \$2 million to educators who have made exceptional science-teaching contributions and who have had a measurable impact on the lives of their students.

"Amgen is delighted to honor the accomplishments and dedication of this year's winners. These exceptional teachers are helping to transform young lives by inspiring their students to be excited about learning and science," said Phyllis Piano, vice president Corporate Communications and Philanthropy, Amgen.

The 32 selected winners will receive the following benefits:

- -- An unrestricted cash award of \$5,000 USD or \$5,000 CAD; and
- -- A restricted \$5,000 USD or \$5,000 CAD cash grant to the recipient's school for the expansion or enhancement of a school science program, science resources, or the professional development of the school's science teachers;

Along with the award applications, teachers were asked to submit an innovative science lesson plan which had been successfully introduced in their classroom. Amgen will post the winning lesson plans to its Web site to promote the sharing of this knowledge with educators across the country to bolster excellence and innovation in science teaching.

Amgen partnered with the University of Wisconsin - Madison School of Education to judge the teaching awards in the U.S. and Puerto Rico. The School's Department of Curriculum and Instruction is consistently recognized as a leader in education, and their expertise aided in the selection of the strongest possible winners.

Nominations are solicited every fall with winners selected based on the following criteria: innovative science lesson plan, creativity of teaching methods, effectiveness in the classroom and the plan for the use of grant money to improve science education resources in their schools.

For more information about this year's winners and the program, please visit http://www.amgen.com/citizenship/aaste.html.

About Amgen

Amgen discovers, develops, manufactures and delivers innovative human therapeutics. A biotechnology pioneer since 1980, Amgen was one of the first companies to realize the new science's promise by bringing safe and effective medicines from lab, to manufacturing plant, to patient. Amgen therapeutics have changed the practice of medicine, helping millions of people around the world in the fight against cancer, kidney disease, rheumatoid arthritis, and other serious illnesses. With a deep and broad pipeline of potential new medicines, Amgen remains committed to advancing science to dramatically improve people's lives. To learn more about our pioneering science and our vital medicines, visit www.amgen.com.

CONTACT: Amgen, Thousand Oaks Kristen Davis, 805-447-3008 (media)

SOURCE: Amgen